top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKiwi_illustrates

Team Caoimhe Art director and designer

roles

Art director (me) : Caoimhe Healy

Designer/Illustrator : Caoimhe Hennessy


We had the choice of what brand to do so we decided to do the product Barry's Tea


My Role as the Art Director


Creative Strategy

Your chosen strategies should reflect the feel of the brand and should communicate effectively to your identified target audience. Use the 10 point plan as your structure when creating the creative Brief:

  • Client (who is the Client?)

  • Product (What are you creating?)

  • Competition (Who is the competition?)

  • Business/advertising objective (what is the purpose of the product?)

  • Media (What media will be used?)

  • Target market/audience (Who is the product aimed at?)

  • Proposition/promise/benefit (what is the product promising to do?)

  • Proposition support points (What are the tangibles that support the promise?)

  • Tone of voice (What tone do you wish to set?)

Mandatory’s (These are the specific details the client has asked you to include or exclude)






 

Art Director

Reflect on the work presented by the Designer at critique. Chose an illustrative style and design layout, providing verbal and written feedback based on the chosen concept. In this feedback evaluate the effectiveness of the illustrative style and layout design in response to the creative strategy you have provided. Provide additional guidance and direction to ensure aims of the brief are realised. This process should be clearly labelled and presented in your team Art Direction notebook.



layout for the the posters. the images are of a square format with a white background and then the slogan.


Slogan

the slogan we decided to use for this ad campaign “every family has its moments, Barry’s makes them golden”

Barry's is very family and Irish orientated so we decided on that theme for the posters. we think it fits well with the brand while also giving us enough to work with . the tone is going to be funny/ comedic.




Caoimhe is going to use her own style of illustration. I really like her illustrative style and i think it fits with the theme and ideas we have come up with for the posters. the media is digital as that is what Caoimhe works with and it is the most convenient for this project.





 




Rough work





I'm really happy with all of the work so far from Caoimhe. The ideas she came up with are funny and very relatable to many people. I think they also appeal to the wide audience of tea drinkers. the usual target audience for Barry's would be an older 18+ and middle age. you could be the teenager bringing home a boyfriend or the shocked mam.

There's a lot of studies showing that advertisements that funnier are more memorable as long as it doesn't distract from the product. I think these advertisements are the right amount humour so you don't forget what the ad was actually for . I think these kind of advertisements are very social media friendly which is very important for advertising today.












I did some research into humour being used in advertisements around the world to really understand it effectiveness. the purpose of humour is to make the advertisement memorable but you have to be careful that it doesn't take away from the brand that you are trying to sell.








The final work and other relevant sketches etc will be on my teammates blog











Evaluation



Overall I think I had a good experience with this project as a collaborative process. It was an interesting project especially with the roles of the art director and illustrator. One of the most important things about this module was expanding your creative ideas and how to come up with them. The key relationship characteristics that you need to work as part of a successful design theme , is good communication, compromise and support. Good communication is the most important part of teamwork and involves communicating with your partner about what needs to be done and so you two are on the same page. Being a good communicator also means being a good listener. By listening to your colleagues you show them respect, which is an essential trust-building method.Compromise is important as a delegation. Each person has their own opinions, strengths and weaknesses so you have to be able to work with them and navigate that. Support especially for this project was important. Both of us haven't had much experience completing a project like this, especially me as I haven't been in the role as an art director before.

My primary role was the art director. I think I was successful as an art director and I am very happy with the work we completed. It was a role I hadn't taken on before so I learned a lot. I learned about what makes a successful brand. I think what worked in my favour was that I was a designer as well so I knew how things worked and I understood how to work with my teammate.


(267 w)


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page